X
  GO
2017-18 Academic Calendar
Finals Schedule (PDF)
Academic Deadlines - Fall | Winter | May | Summer (PDF)
View Online Events Calendar 

FALL EVENTS
DATE
New Faculty Orientation
Monday, Aug. 28
Faculty Workshop
Tuesday-Thursday, Aug. 29-31
New Student Arrival/Orientation
Friday-Tuesday, Sept.1-5
Fall Classes Begin
Wednesday, Sept. 6, 7:45 a.m.
HOMECOMING and FAMILY WEEKEND
Friday-Sunday, Oct. 13-15
Fall Break Begins
Thursday, Oct. 26, 7:45 a.m.
Classes Resume
Monday, Oct. 30, 7:45 a.m.
500th Anniversary of the Reformation Celebration**
Tuesday, Oct. 31, 11:15 a.m.
Thanksgiving Break Begins*
Wednesday, Nov. 22, 1:35 p.m.
Classes Resume
Monday, Nov. 27, 7:45 a.m.
December Commencement
Sunday, Dec. 10, 10:30 a.m.
Fall Classes End
Monday, Dec. 11, 5:35 p.m.
Final Exams or Final Activity
Tuesday-Friday, Dec. 12-15

*Classes in periods 1-6 will meet for 50 minutes with a 10-minute break between classes and no chapel, i.e.: 7:45-8:35; 8:45-9:35; .....

**Morning classes remain the same, the last one dismissing at 11:15 a.m. No afternoon classes, lessons, meetings, or practices will take place until 4 p.m. to allow students, faculty, and staff to participate campus-wide events.

64 class days, 4 exam days; (Outfly is not included in the 64 class days); 39 MWF classes; 25 TTH classes

First Session: Wednesday, Sept. 6-Monday, Oct. 23; 20 MWF; 13 TTH
Second Session: Tuesday, Oct. 24 - Monday, Dec. 11; 19 MWF; 12 TTH
WINTER EVENTS
DATE
Faculty Workshop
Wednesday, Jan. 3, 8 a.m.
Registration
Wednesday, Jan. 3, 1 p.m.
Winter Classes Begin
Thursday, Jan. 4, 7:45 a.m. 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day*
Monday, Jan. 15
Ash Wednesday Service
Wednesday, Feb. 14
(Classes dismiss at 9:50 a.m., reconvene at 11 a.m.)
Winter Break Begins
Friday, March 2, 5:35 p.m.
Classes Resume
Monday,  March 12, 7:45 a.m.
Easter Break Begins
Thursday, March 29, 5:35 p.m.
Classes Resume
Tuesday, April 3, 7:45 a.m.
RICE Day
Thursday, April 12
Winter Classes End
Friday, April 13, 5:35 p.m.
Final Exams or Final Activity
Monday-Thursday, April 16-19
Tour Week 
Sunday-Sunday, April 22-29

*Classes in periods 1-6 will meet for 50 minutes with a 10-minute break between classes and no chapel, i.e.: 7:45-8:35; 8:45-9:35;...

64 class days, 4 exam days; 38 MWF classes; 26 TTH classes (64 days does not count RICE)

First Session: Thursday, Jan. 4 - Friday, Feb. 16; 19 MWF; 13 TTH
Second Session: Monday, Feb. 19 - Friday, April 13; 19 MWF; 13 TTH 

MAY EVENTS
DATE
May Classes Begin
Monday, April 30
May Classes End
Wednesday, May 23
Final Exams or Final Activity
Thursday, May 24
Baccalaureate/Graduation
Sunday, May 27
18 class days, 1 exam day/Classes meet 3 hours/day
SUMMER EVENTS
DATE
Summer Session I 
June 4-July 5; Examination July 6
Summer Session II
July 9-August 8; Examination August 9