X
GO
2018-19 Academic Calendar

Finals Schedule (PDF)
Academic Deadlines - Fall | Winter | May (PDF)

FALL 2018  EVENTS DATE TIME
New Faculty Orientation Monday, Aug. 20  
Faculty Workshop Tuesday – Thursday, Aug. 21 – 23  
New Student Arrival/Orientation Saturday – Tuesday, Aug. 25 – 28  
Fall Classes Begin Wednesday, Aug. 29 7:45 a.m.
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 3, class in session  
HOMECOMING and FAMILY WEEKEND Thursday – Sunday, Oct. 18-21  
Fall Break Begins Wednesday, Oct. 24 7:45 a.m.
Classes Resume Monday, Oct. 29 7:45 a.m.
Thanksgiving Break Begins Friday, Nov. 16 5:35 p.m.
Classes Resume Monday, Nov. 26 7:45 a.m.
Fall Classes End Friday, Dec. 7 5:35 p.m.
December Commencement Sunday, Dec. 9 10:30 a.m.
Final Exams or Final Activity  Monday – Thursday, Dec. 10-13
  64 class days, 4 exam days; (Outfly is not included in the 64 class days); 38 MWF classes; 26 TTH classes

First Session: Wednesday, Aug. 29-Monday, Oct. 15; 20 MWF; 13 TTH
Second Session: Tuesday, Oct. 16 - Friday, Dec.7; 18 MWF; 13 TTH
WINTER 2019  EVENTS DATE TIME
Faculty Workshop Friday, Jan. 4 8 a.m.
Registration Friday, Jan. 4 1 p.m.
Winter Classes Begin Monday, Jan. 7 7:45 a.m.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day* Monday, Jan. 21  
Winter Break Begins Friday, March 1 5:35 p.m.
Classes Resume Monday, March 11 7:45 a.m.
RICE Day Thursday, April 11  
Winter Classes End Friday, April 12 5:35 p.m.
Final Exams or Final Activity Monday-Thursday, April 15-18  
Tour Week Sunday – Sunday, April 21-28
Tour Week begins on Easter Sunday
 
*Classes in periods 1-6 will meet for 50 minutes with a 10-minute break between classes and no chapel, i.e.: 7:45-8:35; 8:45-9:35.

64 class days, 4 exam days; 39 MWF classes; 25 TTH classes (64 days does not count RICE)

First Session: Monday, Jan. 7 - Wednesday, Feb. 20; 20 MWF; 13 TTH
Second Session: Thursday, Feb. 21 - Friday, April 12; 19 MWF; 12 TTH 
 
MAY 2019  EVENTS DATE TIME
May Classes Begin Monday, April 29  
May Classes End Wednesday, May 22  
Final Exams or Final Activity Thursday, May 23  
Baccalaureate/Graduation Sunday, May 26  
18 class days, 1 exam day: Classes meet 3 hours/day  
SUMMER 2019 EVENTS DATE TIME
Summer Session I June 3 - July 3; Examination July 5
Summer Session II July 8 - August 7; Examination August 8  
2019-20 Academic Calendar
FALL 2019  EVENTS DATE TIME
New Faculty Orientation Monday, Aug. 26  
Faculty Workshop Tuesday-Thursday, Aug. 27-29  
New Student Arrival/Orientation Saturday-Tuesday, Aug. 31-Sept. 3  
Fall Classes Begin Wednesday, Sept. 4 7:45 a.m.
HOMECOMING and FAMILY WEEKEND Thursday – Sunday, Oct. 10-13  
Fall Break Begins Friday, Oct. 18 5:35 p.m.
Classes Resume Thursday, Oct. 24 7:45 a.m.
Thanksgiving Break Begins Friday, Nov. 22 5:35 p.m.
Classes Resume Monday, Dec. 2 7:45 a.m.
Fall Classes End Friday, Dec. 13 5:35 p.m.
December Commencement Sunday, Dec. 15 10:30 a.m.
Final Exams or Final Activity  Monday-Thursday, Dec. 16-19
  64 class days, 4 exam days; (Outfly is not included in the 64 class days); 38 MWF classes; 26 TTH classes

First Session: Wednesday, Sept. 4-Friday, Oct. 18; 19 MWF; 13 TTH
Second Session: Thursday, Oct. 24-Friday, Dec. 13; 19 MWF; 13 TTH
WINTER 2020  EVENTS DATE TIME
Faculty Workshop Friday, Jan. 3 8 a.m.
Registration Friday, Jan. 3 1 p.m.
Winter Classes Begin Monday, Jan. 6 7:45 a.m.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day* Monday, Jan. 20  
Ash Wednesday Service Wednesday, Feb. 26 (classes dismiss at 9:50 a.m., reconvene at 11 a.m.)
Winter Break Begins Friday, Feb. 28 5:35 p.m.
Classes Resume Monday, March 9 7:45 a.m.
RICE Day Tuesday, April 7  
Winter Classes End Thursday, April 9 9 p.m.
Easter Break Begins Thursday, April 9 9 p.m.
Final Exams or Final Activity Tuesday-Friday, April 14-17  
Tour Week Sunday-Sunday, April 19-26  
*Classes in periods 1-6 will meet for 50 minutes with a 10-minute break between classes and no chapel, i.e.: 7:45-8:35; 8:45-9:35.

64 class days, 4 exam days; 38 MWF classes; 25 TTH classes (63 days does not count RICE)

First Session: Monday, Jan. 6-Tuesday, Feb. 18; 19 MWF; 13 TTH
Second Session: Wednesday, Feb. 19-Thursday, April 9; 19 MWF; 12 TTH 
 
MAY 2020  EVENTS DATE TIME
May Classes Begin Monday, April 27  
May Classes End Wednesday, May 20  
Final Exams or Final Activity Thursday, May 21  
Baccalaureate/Graduation Sunday, May 24  
18 class days, 1 exam day: Classes meet 3 hours/day  
SUMMER 2019 EVENTS DATE TIME
Summer Session I June 1-July 1; Examination July 2
Summer Session II July 6-August 5; Examination August 6